Education & Certification

Title

Lunch and Learn


Lunch and Learn Series

Lunch and Learn

The Lunch and Learn Series is a group of five 60-minute webinars to strengthen your payroll knowledge and professional skills. All webinars will be taught at 12:00 p.m. in the Central and Pacific time zones.

Buy the webinars on the day and time that works for you. Please note that these webinars cannot be purchased separately and that the specific day and time selected will be the same for all five webinars. You will choose which time zone/series you want to attend. Wednesday Series is offered 12:00 p.m. CDT (1:00 p.m. EDT, 11:00 a.m. MDT, 10:00 a.m. PDT). Thursday Series is offered 12:00 p.m. PDT (3:00 p.m. EDT, 2:00 p.m. CDT, 1:00 p.m. MDT).

Purchase price also includes the Webinar On Demand, when available.

Please note: Webinars are not available for individual purchase. Webinars On Demand are only available to purchasers of the live series.

Register Online | Print Order Form

2020 Pricing

MemberColleagueNon-Member
$425.00$525.00$635.00

Session Topics

Executive Compensation: Avoid the Nightmare of IRS Audits
Webinar 1: July 29 (CDT) or July 30 (PDT)

Executive compensation continues to evolve in terms of creativity, complexity, and dollar value. The IRS is taking steps to ensure compliance with employment and income tax requirements relating to executive compensation. Let's discuss how employers can ensure that items are tracked properly, reported timely, and taxed correctly.
CPE Field of Study: Taxes

Emotional Intelligence
Webinar 2: August (CDT) 5 or August 6 (PDT)

Although few can accurately identify emotions as they occur, increasing your emotional intelligence can help. EI is the ability to recognize your emotions and those of others, discern between various feelings and label them appropriately, use emotional information to guide thinking and behavior, and manage or adjust emotions to adapt to your circumstances. In this session, we will discuss these critical EI behaviors which can impact the success or failure of your department - and your career.
CPE Field of Study: Personal Development

Root Cause Analysis: Prevent That Payroll Error From Happening Again
Webinar 3: August 12 (CDT) or August 14 (PDT)

We have all experienced some type of error that affects an employee's paycheck, a general ledger posting, or even an incorrect calculation. Take the path traveled by many to become a professional payroll analyst. Learn troubleshooting techniques and tricks of the trade to insured a smoother payroll, from processing to posting.
CPE Field of Study: Business Management & Organization

Dealing with the 27th/53rd Payroll Phenomenon
Webinar 4: August 19 (CDT) or August 20 (PDT)

If you pay weekly or biweekly, at some point, you will need to deal with a year with 27 or 53 pay periods. If you have never experienced this phenomenon, you either a) don't pay weekly or biweekly, b) haven't been in payroll long enough, or c) you are experiencing the "yets"; it hasn't happened "YET." We will look at why this occurs, what we need to do to prepare for when it does happen, and some best practices to help guide your discussion with HR, benefits, finance, and your execs (and maybe your Finance Board).
CPE Field of Study: Business Management & Organization

Ethics in Payroll
Webinar 5: August 26 (CDT) or August 27 (PDT)

Someone has devised a plan to divert company funds into a covert banking account. Someone is using a veiled scheme turning unnoticed expenditures into earnings. Someone is dishonestly scamming workers out of their earned wages. Who are the perpetrators of these unethical acts? Don't look now, but they may be hiding in plain sight - WITHIN YOUR ORGANIZATION! Bring your investigative abilities to this session to protect your company from the insidious culprits of fraud and extortion.
CPE Field of Study: Behavioral Ethics

Recertification Credit

Earn up to 5 Recertification Credit Hours (RCHs), 0.5 Continuing Education Units (CEUs), or 5 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits when attending this course.

No advanced preparation or prerequisites required, Program Level: Overview; Delivery Method: Group Internet-Based; Field of Study: See individual session descriptions

Format

Each webinar is streamed to the user at a specific time over the Internet. During the live webinar, attendees can participate in polling and ask questions. After the live presentation, the program will be available as a Webinar On Demand.